Our History

1923- Organized as a component of Tri-State region (the District of Columbia, Maryland and Delaware) Bishop W.H. Herring, Overseer


1927 – First Holy Convocation, Bishop Samuel Kelsey & Bishop O.T. Jones, Sr. as Overseers: Mother Annie Pennington (Bailey), Supervisor of Women


1936 – Elder Randolph A. Carr establishes Rehoboth Church Of God In


Christ on Mount Street – becomes State Overseer


1946 – Overseer Carr severs ties with the Church Of God In Christ: Bishop D. Lawrence Williams becomes State Bishop


1959 – Elder Theodore Young elevated Bishop of Maryland


1980 – Presiding Bishop J.O. Patterson, Sr. appoints Superintendent David W. Spann, Sr. as Chairman of the Executive Board


1984 – Bishop Young designated as Bishop Emeritus


1985 – Chairman Spann appointed & consecrated Jurisdictional Prelate by the entire General Board


1986 – 2007

– Name changed to Greater Maryland First Jurisdiction
– Largest Jurisdiction in the State of Maryland
– Establishment and enhancement of numerous Jurisdictional programs, auxiliaries and services (i.e. Jurisdictional Adjutancy,Jurisdiction Secretary, Auxiliaries In Ministries, Ordination Standards, C.H. Mason System of Bible Colleges, etc.)


Forty-Three established churches


-October 28, 2007 Bishop David Washington Spann, Sr. enters the”Church Triumphant”

-December 3, 2007 Bishop Charles Edward Blake, Sr., Presiding Bishop and members of the General Board appoint Elder Joel Harley Lyles, Jr. as Bishop-Designate